Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 26th, 2015

A fresh start

Recently, I’ve been paying much attention to my appearance. From simply style, looking sharp all the way down to the skin. Watching videos from Real Men Real Style and Alpha M. has taught me quite a few things on grooming and, as they put it, ‘putting your best foot forward’.

However, trying to look good got me thinking a little. Looking at the opposite spectrum, namely, beneath the superficial – I was reminded of the Pharisees.

Pharisees were the people who were the most learned in terms of God’s word. They were the kind of people who would be able to recite the whole bible to you cover to cover. They were the Teachers of the Law. Yet there was one thing about them that is often pointed out in the Bible. They were hypocrites. They preached and imposed laws on people and cherrypicked. Jesus described them as ‘white-washed tombs’. Because they were dead.

Similarly, I would be found teaching, sharing the gospel and correcting people in their behaviour and world view as a Christian – if they called themselves Christian. While looking good in both the things I do and appearance, leading a lifestyle of secret sin rendered all the former meaningless. A white-washed tomb indeed.

Quiet time, reading the bible, intimacy with God and prayer coupled with scripture memory are terms which are not unfamiliar to me. Yet these were the very things that I neglected. Until today.

Recently, a friend shared this article by Francis Chan, writer of the book Crazy Love, with me.

Link: http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/the-greatest-thing-you-could-do-today

The article spoke of the emotions of Moses as he ascended the mountain to meet with God. In contrast to our experience with God, ours would probably pale. The main point of the article is that it is really high time that we start spending time with God and make time for Him. Not because He needs us – it’s the opposite, really. We need Him and He wants us. Just as this spurred me into action, I hope this does for you too.

The period of sin has led me to read Psalm 51 in my quiet time this morning and also became the passage for scripture memory this period. And I hope that through this I can be an effective and victorious Christian wherever I go. It resonated deep within me when David sang

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
    wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones that you have broken rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins,
    and blot out all my iniquities.
10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
    and renew a right[b] spirit within me.
11 Cast me not away from your presence,
    and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
    and uphold me with a willing spirit.

13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will return to you.

The most beautiful part is where one sinner come to be cleansed and go on to lead more sinners to the Restorer. Also, I like how it is conditional. It sounded like it was a deal with God, but it makes perfect sense. One needs to experience the joy of salvation before sharing it with others.

Read Full Post »